Aspire to Inspire


That’s probably my favourite quote. The structure, the rhyming and the message. I would get a tattoo of it but every time I think I’ve settled on a tattoo, it turns into the latest trend. Like a flat globe or wanderlust or the infinity symbol. But I feel I’ve discovered a muse. Which I always associated with old men and young blonde women but in my opinion it’s your source of inspiration in human form. Robert Graves said that male muses don’t exist, a female poet must be her own muse or she is nothing.  I’m the exact opposite of a feminist because I believe in equality not power. But I don’t agree with this strictly because if there’s one for a boy, there’s one for a girl. Equal

I read elsewhere that a male muse is titled an Agent of Fortune. But that doesn’t have the same, je ne sais quoi of muse. So I’m sticking with my original sentence of I’ve discovered a muse. I find myself craving to write, to express my inner thoughts. I dont want to be sensored as I usually am from fear of family and friends judgement. 

I want to be real. This isn’t saying that everything I’ve written before is fake but there may have been a family zone glossing over those posts. I feel newly awakened in a sense I have felt since returning from Europe 2 years ago. 

I described to a friend that our conversations are like debate class. It’s not arguing but we seem to see everything from completely opposite sides while still being open to the other side. It’s almost educational but completely eye opening to a different view on life. I find myself coming home and thinking why did I just reveal so much about myself, just completely opening up when I’ve cut everyone out for so long. But if my summer is filled with late night tea dates and life discussions, then I am ready. 

Leave a Reply

